Step 1 - Create an account on testing center website
Go online to www.psiexams.com and create an account
From here, you will be able to:
Step 2 - Register for a background check
The state now requires all new applicants to be fingerprinted and background checked thru Cogent. Visit: https://cogentid.3m.com/nm/index_NM.htm to register. Cost $44
Step 3 - Apply for License
Once you have passed your test and completed your fingerprinting, visit www.nipr.com and click "Apply for a License" and follow the prompts.
Updated Licensing Regulation Released
The OSI has released the final version of the Licensing Rules, which updates the New Mexico Regulation to dovetail with the changes brought about by the new Producer Licensing statute that became effective in July of 2017. A copy of the Regulation can be found here. Although it is 24 pages long, the title industry is not subject to most of it, because title producers have been categorized as a ‘limited line’ of insurance (refer to section 184.108.40.206, C-5 on page 4). The important information for title producers is mostly contained on page 10 under section 220.127.116.11.
Instructions for completing your background check registration:
*Results of your background check will automatically be submitted to the processing center.
The Office of the Superintendent (OSI) has contracted PSI to conduct all licensing exams in New Mexico.
If you need additional information you can contact the Office of Superintendent of Insurance (OSI):
Exam Retake Information:
You must wait one business day before contacting PSI to schedule a new examination. The application is valid for six months. If you fail an exam twice, you will not be allowed to retake it again for 30 days. If you fail your exam an additional two times, you will have to wait an additional six months to schedule and take your exam and will need to submit a new application form, application fees, registration form and registration fees.
NMLTA Office Building
1511 University Blvd. NE
Albuquerque, NM 87102